Skip to content

Land of Beltway

August 11, 2006

Dear District,

Once upon a time in the land of Beltway, I came to school, with a little bit of 8th grade nostalgia and a little more love for cities in general. I got back a lot more. Thank you for teaching me that DC is not completely about politics, and that it’s hard to be cynical watching the 4th of July fireworks on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial. Thank you DC for giving me friends for life, for all the exercise from walking instead of driving, for the Library of Congress and its Book Festivals. Thank you for teaching me how to anticipate walk lights, and how to jaywalk for the rest of the time. Thank you for taking federal, but no state taxes out of my paychecks. Thank you for teaching me how to live. Thank you for the feeling that I can finally call myself, without reservations or clarifications, a Washingtonian.

I’ll be back. You, me, 2007. Be there.

Taylor

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

