Skip to content

In Cairo

August 23, 2006

The past 24+ hours have been such a rush of emotions, sounds, words, everything… that when I finally got to my apartment in Downtown Cairo, I went into the bathroom to hyperventilate for a few seconds.

This is the view from my apartment window. At 11:30 at night. I’m not sure if/when I went to sleep last night, as the sound is as loud as Times Square mid-day at 2 a.m. as well as 8 a.m. (currently).

We’ve got one of many orientations today, and I’m proud to say I’ve moved from being absolutely terrified last night to being frightened but scared this morning. I haven’t made the walk to campus yet, but the few of my roommates who have said it was a harrowing experience. I think I should describe Cairo streets by simply stating that there are no traffic lights. Or at least none that I can see/that are working/people are paying attention to.

We were about over Nova Scotia, eating our three course Air France meal with (free!) mini-bottles of wine when I turned to Kate and said “We’ve made a terrible mistake, we should have been studying in France”. I said it in jest, and more really about the quality of the airline food, but by the time we got to our Charles de Gaulle gate to Cairo, the loudspeaker announced a final boarding call to JFK on the other end of the terminal. I would lying to say I didn’t consider for half-a-second making a break for it, but here I am.

Making the trip was a story in itself, so I write about that later. Right now it’s time to get dressed and to make the walk to AUC’s campus.

Comments are closed.

