Skip to content

The More Things Change…

September 15, 2006

I’ve been preparing for this for a while, a real long while, it seems.

In first grade I made a game out of it, running across Algonquin’s then massive blacktop, criss-crossing, willing myself to run directly towards people and then feint at the last possible second. I dodged the other kids at recess for fun. Then I must have looked ridiculous, darting across in my little blue and white Nikes and my sometimes skirts. Now it is second nature to my steps. I walk with purpose against a dirtier concrete path, dodging women in abayas and street vendors, being sure to step lightly but surely, ready to change direction at any moment.

This is my first time walking Cairo by myself, sick of room service but going to McDonald’s anyway (I am not proud). It feels like I’m back on that blacktop at Algonquin.

One Comment leave one →
  1. karly permalink
    September 18, 2006 2:23 pm

    Thanks for the comment and thanks even more for acknowledging the truth in feeling, I guess, the way we do. I’ve pretty much come to terms with the fact that this doesn’t have to be the most beautiful experience and that sometimes the dirt is the best part of the experience itself.It’s ok to admit that it sucks sometimes and we’ll never fit in. Honesty is a virtue right?

    I’m not sure any of this made any sense at all…..but what does in Africa?

    Much love and I’ll be reading and loving your blog for months to come!

    Karly

Leave a Reply

