Skip to content

Aganib

November 26, 2006

This is a minor story, but perfect combination of what its like being me in Egypt.

After I lost my camera at the Acropolis, I bought an overpriced disposable camera for 10 Euros. I finally stopped into our neigborhood film processing store to get the photos. The lady at the counter asked my name to fill out the form. “Taylor Bro-. Yes that’s T-a-y”

“Foreigner?”

“Yes, I’m a foreigner.”

She wrote down something in Arabic on the form. And continued asking me questions.

I was confused as why she didn’t need the rest of my name until I got the top of the photo stub. Under the name part was written, in Arabic, “Aganib”. Now I might be transliterating that wrong, but the root letters tell me that, yes, according to the Comet Photo Store on Mohammed Farid, my name is “foreigner”.

Honestly, this is probably a whole lot easier to identify me than messing up the spelling of my name. Plus, I had a wonderful conversation, half in English, half in my increasingly bad Arabic with the photo lady. And all I have to do to pick up my photos is walk in.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2006 6:28 pm

    Dear Taylor, the word is “Agnabi”. “Aganib” is a plural form. Frankly this wasn’t a good way to identify foreigners here in Cairo, but i think that you were lucky to get your photos, imagine any other Mrs Foreigner picking up yours by saying she is a foreigner too!!
    enjoy your stay here in cairo, or just try to

  2. human permalink
    April 22, 2007 3:41 pm

    i also believe they doubled the fees
    just because you are a foreigner

Leave a Reply

