Skip to content

Cheer Up, Emo Kid, You Froze to Death for Free Tickets!

January 28, 2007

Aside from the cruelty of the headline, it truely is the mask my bitterness that I underestimated mid-Atlantic Sufjan Stevens fans. Stevens (not Stevenson, as the Kennedy Center security guy kept telling us) is playing a free concert at the Kennedy Center and the tickets went up on Saturday at 9 a.m. Living ridiculously close to the Kennedy Center and fairly confident that the concert hadn’t been publicized too much, I left at 8:30.

As I approached the parking lot I saw the line next to the building. It didn’t look too long, especially considering the size of the Opera House. And then I got closer, and my mouth dropped in horror. It was the line to end all lines, a impatient drove of people lined around the building and then serpentined into the plaza. There had to be thousands of people there. Even towards the middle of line, people had pillows and blankets and were wearing comical amounts of layers. They had slept there overnight. (I later learned that a boyfriend of a friend had been the first in line. How did he accomplish this feat? He got there at 7 a.m., on Friday).

But I knew none of this until I walked to the far right of the Center. I waited it out for an hour, calming waiting at what persisted to be the end of the line (after 8:45 or so, everyone who wanted to be there was there) until we were told the tickets were sold out. The opera house holds 2300 people. Each person got two free tickets.

Now: pairs of tickets are selling for $400 on craigslist. One poster even tried some reverse psychology:

since over 2000 people camped out at the kennedy center for sufjan stevens tickets, he is clearly no longer underground and cool. if you go to see him play, your rep will be damaged beyond repair. you should stop listening to his music immediately and give your tickets to me.

Nice try dude. People with that attitude left the Sufjan cult a year ago. I did however, not go home empty handed. In a much shorter (yet still impressive) line, I got two National Symphony Orchestra tickets for the same night. So the plan is to enjoy a free concert and then camp out in the foyer where the Sufjan concert will be simulcast on a huge screen.

And so the photo for Saturday (although I took several) is the Kennedy Center, early morning.
Kennedy Center in the Morning

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shell & Kenny permalink
    January 29, 2007 5:41 pm

    Glad to see you are up and running(writing?) again! I think the picture a day is going to be great and you never know what you might learn. I pride myself on being up on music and being hip, (though underground is no longer in my repetoire since I don’t hang out in places where I would hear that stuff anymore) but I hadn’t heard of Sufjan so I went to Amazon to check it out and listen to some tracks. I think the 365 project is going to be another grreat adventure to read along/follow you on, just as Cairo was.
    Love, Auntie Shell
    P.S. You still think I’m hip, don’t you? DON”T YOU? 🙂

Leave a Reply

