Skip to content

Musiqa

May 6, 2007

In honor of this blogs approximate 1st birthday (awh! Let’s have cake!), I present a music mix inspired by last summer. Yes, that’s right, the internet version of a mix tape from the past. It’s short and sweet and is the soundtrack of when I started this blog.

Here goes another summer.

{note: links will take you to a page where you can listen to and download the files. If the RIAA happens to stumble upon here, I must disclaim the mp3s are here for sampling purposes, and will be taken down on request. Khalas.}

summermix.jpg

 

 

Mars Loves Venus – The Brunettes

I have no idea where this song came from, or where it’s artists are going, but its both energetic and sounds amazing, even with its pretty low production standards (I have no idea where this song came from. I believe one day, it just showed up on my computer, and I certainly didn’t delete it).

 

Wraith Pinned to the Mist and Other Games– Of Montreal

 

This song’s title is as absurd as its lyrics (Let’s pretend we don’t exist/Let’s pretend we’re in Antarctica), but it’s innate catchy (as most Of Montreal songs are). A love song to base guitar and minimalist percussion. You probably know it from the bastardized version as the Outback jingle. Purge your brain of that marketing gem with the original.

 

No Need to Cry– Neko Case

 

Every time I listen to this song, I get sad that it’s so short. But then I remember how many songs I have grown tired of because of an incessantly repeated chorus. Besides, in the 2 and half minutes it takes to listen to this song, I would make a complete trip on the Bethesda escalator.

 

Summer in the City – Regina Spektor

 

…means cleavage, cleavage, cleavage. Strangely enough, I didn’t acquire this song until December (thanks, whoever gave me the FYI gift certificate), but it automatically reminded me of last summer. I recently saw Spektor in concert, and when she sings this song, I feel the same latent happiness and sadness that made up last summer.

 

Doomsday – Murray Gold (Doctor Who Season 2 Concert)

 

Never mind the title – it shares it with the last episode of season 2 of the new Doctor Who – but its one of the reasons I think television soundtracks (especially those performed by the Cardiff Symphony Orchestra) are undervalued. For all those who have been captured in the new Doctor’s adventures (oh Chris Eccleston’s Nine, we barely knew thee) just hearing the mixing of “Rose’s Theme” with guitars brings back this episode, which was towards the end of the summer and relieved me of much of that July-August stress. Who says sci-fi can’t be cathartic?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mrs. Brown permalink
    May 6, 2007 7:26 pm

    Hi Tay! Enjoyed your musiqua blog. You could be a music critic for a major publication!
    I do know that sci-fi can be cathartic. It was my saving grace in the summer of 76! Although sci-fi today is much more sophisticated and the story lines more involved.
    Good luck this finals week. Can’t wait until we can spend some time together.
    Love Mom

Leave a Reply

