Skip to content

End of a Magical Era

July 16, 2007

You’d think, in the opening night of a Harry Potter film, in a large city, you’d find scores of little children all fighting for “most dressed like a Hogwarts student” and a larger contigent of parents to keep those children up as the start to doze off around 1 a.m. as the excitment wears off.

But if you’d been at the Georgetown theater this past Tuesday night at midnight, you’d notice the four full screens that were playing Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix were not filled by mite-sized children and pre-adolescents, but instead, the entire population of DC college geeks. No one was over the age of 25 or under 17. The midnight time surely cut off a large portion of younger Potter fans who found they couldn’t stay up past their bedtime, but more likely is that the 18 to 25 year old set used to be the little kids who read and watched Harry Potter. I was 12 when the first of J.K. Rowling’s book appeared in America and 15 when the first movie came out. A prime Hogwarts age.

I won’t go into my thoughts on the movie, as I think it was essentially the glue between two longer and more crucial parts of the Harry Potter story (and OotP the book was about 200 to 300 pages too long for its own good).  The real thing that hung over everyone’s head in those theaters was the impending release of the last Harry Potter book. It’s 4 days now and I don’t think anyone could talk about the movie without thinking about the book.

I’m not worry what happens at the end of the book (although spoil me and INCUR MY WRATH) because I could see it resolving well multiple ways, as I’m not too attached to any one character. What I am worried about is what happens afterward. Sure there’s two more movies and probably a slew of connected items but the story is over.

I guess the real question is, what will the publishing industry fill the void with?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wrought permalink
    July 16, 2007 6:23 pm

    Apparently Rowling has talked about some kind of continuation series, so perhaps the void isn’t as looming as it seems.

    I went to see the film a few days ago around evening-meal time and the cinema was less full than I expected, although I put this down to the time of day. There were mostly parents and children in there and it was great hearing the children’s reactions. I didn’t get quite the same impact from the film as they did, being 27, but I thought that it was one of the better Potter films. It hung together well and kept my attention, and the firefight at the end was spectacular. I’m a bit bored of all films being required to be “dark” to be taken seriously these days, it’s an idea that’s getting stale, but in this case it worked well and I was impressed by how much Daniel Radcliffe’s acting has improved; he conveyed his torment well. I was interested to read your opinions too, expecially since I’m in the UK and, well, perhaps perceptions are different?

    I don’t know what happens in the last book, but the prophecy in the film reminded me of when I read the book and thought perhaps there was some hint that Harry and Voldemort would have to extinguish each other simultaneously. I don’t know if this is the case, though, of course. Needless to say, I’m really looking forward to the next book!

Leave a Reply

