Skip to content

Blogmo Day 18: Around the world, or, the internet was made for links

December 18, 2008

I’m a global person (and yes, to the detriment of not knowing much of my very very large country), so I appreciate stories and photos that draw us to what is going on beyond the land between the Atlantic and Pacific. The most immediate way I can think of showing this is the power of photojournalism (even though I’m kind of a fan of words, as you’ve noticed).

Boston.com’s The Big Picture shows the news of the day through huge pictures (no i mean, resize your browser huge). They are 2/3rds of the way into their 2008 in review, and have captured the best of an eventful year.

I also am taken (maybe because I’ve got a background in this stuff) with their photo essay on the Hajj and Eid-al-Adha , which shows Muslim’s celebrating their most important holiday around the world. Of course a majority are in Mekka itself, but the photos in China and the U.S. are stunning as well. The Mekka photos are a study in crowds, the mass photos of men praying and kneeling in union. I suppose it is a frame of reference, but such a (video) shot has been used so often, with menacing music, on CNN and the like to explain spread of Islam, especially in South east Asia, to me, seems incredibly moving, and less menacing then say, a singular imam shouting against the U.S. and its allies.

On the personal side, please direct yourself towards my friend Ben’s blog about his personal epiphanies after living in China for a few months. China and that area of the world is a huge gap in my knowledge, so seeing it from a ground-eye view (something I hoped when I started this blog for Cairo), is as informative and selective as a photo essay.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Adam permalink
    December 18, 2008 11:47 pm

    I’m familiar with The Big Picture. In fact I really enjoy it. That said when I saw the link, I immediately thought of the other Big Picture. This one

Leave a Reply

