Skip to content

New word, short-term use

January 21, 2009

A little more than a week ago – I wrote a blog post about the upcoming inauguration – which I used the word “inaugalypse” as part of my title. It showed up all over my twitterfeed. The neologism started as brainstorm on the part of myself and Adam after I tried unsuccessfully to mash the two words into “inauguralyptic”.

Two days later, Ana Marie Cox tweeted the same word. And so it proliferated on twittersearch up until yesterday, when the -lypse in question finally came to pass.

I think this is a case of two very internet-centric people independently coming up with an idea that’s shown up in various flavors (Hopeapalooza, Changestock, etc) in the past week, but I can trace both of these sources to The Hill’s Blog Briefing Room using it as a tag. Thanks, Mike.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

